Sharia: Halal and Haram

Spread the love

Originally posted 2016-06-03 19:10:03.

The Muslim legal code called Sharia specifies everything that is ‘mandated’ and ‘forbidden’.

In Arabic they are ‘halal’ and ‘haram’. Sharia — contained in a manual called Sharia Law. (The Reliance of the Traveller) actually extends to over 1200 pages of text which specify every imaginable action or aspect of life. Everything from how to brush your teeth or how to put on your clothes, to how to beat your wife or kill your enemies. It is, literally, not just unnecessary for Muslims to think for themselves, it is haram (forbidden).


Muslims are obliged to follow Sharia all the time. There are punishments for transgressions ranging from fines to floggings to forced amputations to death. To reject Sharia wholly is de facto to become apostate, which demands a punishment of death.

Sharia Law. (The Reliance of the Traveller)

Sharia is, by far, the most pernicious ideological evil that afflicts the world today.

Please do not take my word for this; I would rather you researched it yourself, for then you will know what Islam, with its debased code of Sharia, really is: the most anti-human and totalitarian ideology the world has ever seen.

So that you can do this research I have made a full copy of the Sharia code available here: Sharia Law. (The Reliance of the Traveller). Please download it and read for yourself. Be warned though, it’s a big file. At present I only have it in .pdf but I will try to make a conversion into .epub, which will be much smaller and easier to read.


A tiny selection of examples, comparing haram (forbidden) with halal (permitted), is below. (You may have to click the ‘Read More’ link.) If you are one of those duped by the platitudes of Islamic apologists or the ridiculous ‘regressive left’, they may surprise you. They certainly give the lie to the fallacy that Islam is a ‘religion of peace’. Sharia is much, much greater than the tiny number of examples below but I have made this list to show that it is more than not eating pork.

I originally made this list using the words ‘haram’ and ‘halal’ but it seems to me that this is a form of dissembly, in using foreign, unfamiliar words. So I have used English translations instead. While ‘forbidden’ is a decent translation of ‘haram’, halal is more difficult. In all cases it means that the action is permitted, but in many it also means that the action is mandated or even obligatory. I have used ‘permitted’ and ‘mandated’. The latter means that it is  something that Muslims should do, rather than that which they may do.

(A deeper analysis of the gradations of ‘haram’ and ‘halal’, and the minor differences in the interpretation of Sharia in the various sects of Islam can be found in this excellent piece by Bill Warner, published in 2009.)

Philosophy is forbidden.
Science and technology are forbidden unless they can be used as weapons.
Modern Western lifestyle is forbidden.
All music is forbidden.
All poetry is forbidden.
All representations — photographs, drawings, paintings, sculpture — are forbidden.
All works of fiction are forbidden.
Education in non-Muslim countries is forbidden.
Giving money as charity to non-Muslims is forbidden — but taking it is mandated.
Friendship with non-Muslims is forbidden.
For a Muslim woman to marry a non-Muslim man is forbidden but for a Muslim man to marry a non-Muslim woman is permitted, as long as she converts and agrees to raise any children as Muslims.
For women to show their faces in public is forbidden.
Using women as concubines is permitted.
Husbands raping their wives is permitted.
Muslim men raping non-Muslim women is mandated.
Muslim men marrying girls, Muslim or otherwise, as young as 6 is mandated; raping them at age 9 is also mandated.
Sex with women outside marriage is forbidden but sex with slaves is permitted.
Arguments against Islam are forbidden but preaching Islam is mandated.
Anti-Islamic writers and beliefs, and their followers, are forbidden and should be put to death.
Expressing love for one’s wife in public is forbidden but stoning women to death in public is mandated.
Smoking and drinking alcohol are forbidden.
Killing the innocent is forbidden but non-Muslims are not innocent by definition, so killing them is mandated.
Killing anyone who will not submit to Islam is mandated.
Following any law other than Sharia, despite the local law, is forbidden.
Allowing non-Muslims to permanently settle in a Muslim nation is forbidden but going to a non-Muslim nation for settlement purposes is mandated.
Killing Muslims during war, even by accident, by the adversary, is forbidden but killing innocent civilians of non-Muslim enemy nations, deliberately, in retaliation is mandated.
Men wearing clothes below the ankle is forbidden.
Disobeying a husband’s orders is forbidden but beating a wife is permitted.
Dialogues at Islamic Shura Council, by the Ulema, or between Islamic scholars about how to run a country are mandated, but allowing ordinary people to voice their opinion is forbidden.
Condemning non-Muslims about anything is permitted but condemning terrorists amongst Muslims is forbidden.
Travelling the world is permitted but allowing non-Muslims, even charity workers, into Muslim lands is forbidden.
Shaving off one’s beard is forbidden but shaving pubic hair is mandated.
Waging war against non-Muslims is mandated.
Laws of non-Muslim nations are forbidden but seeking justice from non-Muslim courts is permitted.
Allowing women to work is forbidden.
Democracy is forbidden, but using it to seize power and then destroy it is mandated.
Education for women is forbidden, except insofar as it might help her to run the household for her husband.
Apostasy from Islam is forbidden and punishable by death.

Download: Sharia Law. (The Reliance of the Traveller)

Leave a Reply